Over the Top!

16 Nov

If you know me, you know that sometimes I go a little overboard! Thank god I have an understanding fiance and family. Without Dan, this cake would not have happened. The cake was for my sister’s 18th Birthday. She lives for winter and snowboarding. So I thought that I would make her a small little ski slope with a few little people going down. Then inspiration struck and I though wouldn’t it be cool if one of the figures actually snowboarded down the cake??!?!?!?!?!? Dan and I put our heads together to make that happen (more Dan than me). We settled on modifying a little kids Knex set. If you’ve ever played with those things, they are not suppose to be modified…

Once we decided to actually have the figure move I knew the cake couldn’t be small. So I set out to bake a small mountain. I learned a lot by making this cake! It was way too much baking for one person to take on. If I ever do a cake like this again I will need more help. I started baking on Tuesday night and by Saturday morning it was stacked, filled, covered in fondant (homemade marshmallow) and the mechanics were on the cake. Dan stayed up until 2:00 am on Friday to try to get the mechanics working. We only had about 5-6 hours to work on the details, clean and get the cake in the car. With Dan’s help it really all came together. He made the bear and the squirrel.

Getting it in the car was interesting… This is about the max size of cake that I could transport. It weighed about 100 pounds. It just cleared the top of the car and one side of the fondant got a little pushed in getting it into the car. It was an easy fix. It would have been so nice to have a van or SUV to just slide it in the back of though.

Enjoy the photos! The cake is chocolate cake, fillings include peanut butter, and chocolate ganache, then covered in buttercream and marshmallow fondant.



6 Responses to “Over the Top!”

  1. Mom S. November 25, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    I love this cake!! THE SKIER!! The little people! The acorns!! The bear…:) It has opened up doors I never knew existed…For my birthday I want replicas of the whole family diving into a tropical pool one right after the other…like in the old Esther Williams movies…you know, water ballet style:) We should all be wearing blue bathing suits…sort of like The Rockettes on water. I can’t wait. Better start now:) 🙂 🙂 Life is so much fun when it’s your birthday!!!!!! There should be Hawaiin leis and so forth…oh yes, and hula dancers…We are going for the Nobel…Granyomicron forever!!

  2. Meghan December 11, 2009 at 9:23 pm #

    Amazing!

  3. Anonymous March 29, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    This cake is so cool. What an imagination. Your sister better have appreciated it.

  4. Anonymous April 23, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    WOW!!! That’s all I can say!!!

  5. Ryan April 23, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    WOW!!! That’s all I can say!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 5 of 2009 « Sweetie Cakes & Pies - January 4, 2010

    […] 1.  The winner, weighting in at an estimated 100 pounds and scaling 30 inches or so is the  Snowboarding Birthday Cake! […]

Leave a Reply

