Any Thoughts?

3 Dec

My applications to business school are pretty much done! The problem is my GMAT scores were terrible. I’m not getting in this year. I know a good score doesn’t get you in but a bad one keeps you out.

In the mean time, I’m thinking of taking Sweetie Cakes and Pies to the next level, as in possibly being my full time job. I’m done with the snow so it would be somewhere in the south. Dan has also applied to school and I have a really good feeling about his applications. That would determine where I go, but if neither of us gets into school we’re open to all possibilities. Right now I’m open to suggestions on location for Sweetie Cakes and Pies the shop. I just want to start doing some demographic research for a business plan. Any suggestions or ideas that you guys have would be wonderful! I’m also going to be looking for a restaurant or cafe that is open for breakfast and lunch to possibly partner with and rent out the kitchen space to work in the evenings until I’ve established myself. If anyone knows of any leads that would be appreciated.

Of course if I do take this full time I’ll need all the love and support I can get from my friends and family so I thank you in advance.

2 Responses to “Any Thoughts?”

  1. Meghan December 11, 2009 at 9:20 pm #

    I think you should go somewhere where the average cost of weddings is high but the cost of living is low. The wedding cost is a gauge of how much people will pay for cakes, while the cost of living is an indicator of how much it might cost to start a business (rent, utilities, etc.) Maybe Dallas?

    You have to think about timing too though. Cakes and eating out are luxuries, and in this economy it might be difficult to establish enough of a following to get a foothold in the market.

    • tconigl1 December 12, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

      Thanks Meghan. I know what you mean about the economy. But two thoughts keep lingering in my mind. One, if I could start and make it in this economy, I’d be set for when it turns around and two with shows like Cake Boss and Ace of Cakes people are looking for specialty cakes. So we’ll see how the next year goes. I may end up in Business school like planning. I’m just waiting at this point. Thanks for the compliments though, I really appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

