Surprise!

21 Dec

This cake was for a friend’s husband surprise 50th Birthday party.  It was my first topsy turvy cake and I had a lot of fun making it.  I actually can’t wait to make another one because I learned so much while doing this one.  I did have a lot of trouble and it took several tries to get the layers covered in fondant.  So if anyone has any advice for covering this style cake with ease, I’d love to hear it.  I know that part of my problem was that the air was very dry, thus making the fondant a little dry and harder to work with.  Other than that, no major hiccups. Except with the photos.  I didn’t want to put the “50” and the stars on until we arrived at the party so I didn’t do my usual home photo shoot.  The cake was situated up against a wall that was covered in wood paneling and it just didn’t lend itself to good photos. I tried to photo-shop a few so that the cake stands out more but they aren’t perfect.

Andy (the Birthday boy) was very surprised and the party was a lot of fun.  I was so tired though from the cake that I ended up leaving earlier than I wanted to and falling asleep in the car on the way home.

The flavors include chocolate cake and yellow cake all filled with buttercream.  On the side is a little man in a canoe since canoeing is one of his favorite hobbies.

One Response to “Surprise!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 21st Birthday Cake « Sweetie Cakes & Pies - April 14, 2010

    […] just wanted to cry and throw the whole thing in the trash.  But it did go on better than the last topsy-turvy I made, so there has been some improvement. Secondly, I wanted to have a beer bottle coming out of […]

Leave a Reply

