Meditative Rose

10 Feb

There has been a lot going on in my life to say the least. First, I didn’t get into business school.  It was a hard year to apply and my GMAT is low.  I know I’m not alone and there are a ton of other qualified applicants who didn’t get in as well.  On top of that, my department will be making drastic cuts and I’m a casualty of that.

So on to the next adventure, right?  I’m 99% sure that I’m going to proceed to opening my own specialty cake shop.  It may not happen instantly but it is my goal over the next two to three years.  Over the next few months I’ll be putting  a business plan in place and blogging about the experience.  To answer some things that I know already: 1.  It will not be in Ithaca.  2.  I have no magic pot of gold to start a business with so I fully understand the financial implications. It is a marathon not a sprint.  I am, by nature, a marathoner and I know the value of slow incremental progress adding up to make an impact and measurable results.  3. I understand I will be working 7 days a week 365 days a year for the foreseeable future and most likely at more than one job.

I feel good about this decision and I feel alive!  I’m really looking forward to working my butt off for me and something that I want.

Which brings me to my latest cake.  I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching and thinking and I was inspired by Dali.  This cake is my interpretation of Dali’s Meditative Rose.  I say interpretation, not replication.  I didn’t look at the paining while I was making the cake but rather just tried to remember how I felt when I first saw the painting and how my life is changing.  This is what I came up with.

One Response to “Meditative Rose”

  1. Starting a Cake Business February 12, 2010 at 4:57 am #

    Yum! If you want to learn more about starting a cake business, then you are going to want to check out this great book written by Karen Armstrong called “Starting a Cake Business” – available on Amazon.

    http://startingacakebusiness.com/

Leave a Reply

