Sugar Surprise – A Post From Dan

25 Feb

Sugar Surprise

Click on it to see the sugar

THIS is what I’m dealing with!  I hope it shows up in the picture, but if not those spots in the book are clumps of powdered sugar.  Let me explain.  Christmas, two years ago, we made a boatload of cookies and mailed them to family.  All told, this ended up being at least as expensive as buying gifts online and taking advantage of free shipping, and it was an incredible headache and mess to make upwards of 500 cookies.  So I learned my lesson with baking (I thought Terry had learned hers too, but…well… I guess not).  As far as I know this book (“The Great American Cookie Book”, American?) hasn’t been opened in the intervening two years, but we decided to make some oatmeal cookies and since the generic brand of oatmeal we buy has no cookie recipe on the side (what the hell are they thinking?) we had to crack open the cookie book.  And there it was, the mark of my woman… powdered sugar.  Now, I know it had to be her that left the powdered sugar in the book for future generations to find, because anytime I am about to leave a mess I hear my mother’s voice in my head saying, “DANNY, GET YOUR DEAD ASS IN HERE AND CLEAN UP THIS <insert expletive> MESS!” (Coincidently, anytime I am about to do something stupid I hear my father’s voice, “Son, I don’t think that’s gonna work out the way you think it’s gonna work out.”)  Had I done something like this as a child, my mother would likely have used the book as an instructional tool to re-teach me the lesson “Why we don’t leave messes for others to clean up.”  I honestly wouldn’t put it past her to have a “Come to Jesus Meetin’” about it even now that I’m a grown man.

I had thought that Terry’s uncontrollable need to plaster everything in the house with a decorative coating of sugar was a recent development, but apparently, she has been hiding this compulsion for over two years.  Maybe if I had known then, I could have gotten her some help before I had to become this proverbial Oompa Loompa running around trying to clean up after Willy Wonka on crack.

3 Responses to “Sugar Surprise – A Post From Dan”

  1. tconigl1 February 26, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    A comment from a friend on Facebook that I just had to share on here:

    Stephanie Perkins Manning
    ROFLMAO… Dan may not have much to say… but when he does… watch out! Love you man!

  2. Mom S. March 4, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    That’s my boy!!!! Your mother loves and appreciates you more than you’ll ever know. (However, I am not removing the curse that you will have children just like yourself.) Your father and I both had a “Come to Jesus Meetin'” for you two with Laura and Gage standing in for you both. Don’t make me come up there…remember that spiked high heel that comes whizzing around the corner. Love you guys! …Mom

  3. Lil September 14, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    ROFLMAO!!!!!

Leave a Reply

