Make Up Monday – Egg-a-Muffin’ Me Some A That!

1 Mar

Last week’s Fat Friday really left me reaching for what I could make for Make Up Monday.  If you missed Fat Friday, it was Cinnamon Buns with Candie Bacon in them.  A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. But, what ingredient could I possibly use from that to make something healthy?  Why not the star, BACON!

Well…it is close, ham.  This is a great little breakfast that my grandfather introduced to me years ago.  Typically I use Morning Star Veggie Sausage Patties instead of ham, but I was trying to make the link from the candied bacon.  I usually eat this or some kind of variation before a morning run.  It has a great balance of protein and carbs (not that I really know anything about that) and if you have the time, I like to throw a slice of tomato or a few leaves of spinach on for taste as well as health reasons.

Egg Muffin

You Will Need:

1 egg

1 English Muffin (I like 12 grain)

Slice of Cheese

Slice of ham or desired meat or meat substitute

Put It Together

Toast the ham and cheese on the English Muffin (If using veggie sausage wrap in damp paper towel and microwave for a minute)

Spray the inside of a coffee cup with cooking spray

Crack the egg into the cup (I prefer just the white, but it is up to you).

Season with a dash of salt and pepper.

Pop it in the microwave for 30 seconds.

Put the egg on the ham, close sandwich and enjoy!

This is a great breakfast that only takes a few minutes to make!

In case anyone has a case of the Monday’s and needs a laugh, you’ll enjoy the video below.   Last Thursday night, in anticipation of the massive snow we were suppose to get, we shoveled the foot of snow in the drive way that had already accumulated.  It was dark so we used our car head lights to be able to see.  I have auto power windows and when I got in to turn the car on or off I must have hit the back window and didn’t notice…well we got about two feet of snow that night and my back seat was no exception…

Have a good week everyone!

Leave a Reply

