African Lily Cake

3 Mar

For Christmas Dan and I got a gift card for Amazon.com from his brother Joe.  Awesome gift!  I ordered a few books on sugar flowers so expect over the next few months to see some serious flower practice.

The first one I attempted was the African Lily.  They didn’t turn out terrible for a first try.  I will say that I hate Wilton products and that’s the only thing I can get around here.  So I’ll just have to make it a point to be prepared and  order supplies online.  I used Wilton’s pearl dust to paint the flowers and I really needed petal dust.  I also made my own marshmallow fondant and I’m just so sick of it.  It doesn’t have the right consistency and it doesn’t look as nice and the store bought stuff.  But it is the cheap option for practicing.

The flavors are lemon sponge cake with raspberry filling.

3 Responses to “African Lily Cake”

  1. Jenny March 3, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    SOOOO Beautiful! And it was really tasty as well! I think it is important for pretty cakes to taste good, so way to go!!

  2. lisa March 3, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    WoOoOoW! thats sweet!! 😉

Leave a Reply

