The Size Never Changes!

9 Mar

My sister and I both LOVE shoes.  She actually hates shopping (it makes me wonder if we’re related at all) except for shoes.   One of her favorite things to say is “the size never changes, so it is the best thing to shop for.”  This weekend I went down for a quick visit and to see her in her last high school musical.  I’ve been wanting to make a shoe and shoe box cake for a while now so I thought this was the perfect opportunity.  My mom was also celebrating last weekend.  She is working on her PhD and her proposal for her dissertation was accepted.  So this cake turned out to be for both of them.  That’s what the T & E stands for.  Terry & Emily.  My mom and I have the same name.  (On a side note I’ve been considering changing my name to Resa to be short for Theresa instead of Terry, any thoughts?  I think it suits me better. Chef Resa).

I was thrilled with the way this cake turned out.  There were no disasters and it pretty much looks exactly like what I was going for.  I admit, I need to fine tune some of my skills but overall I was very pleased with this cake.  So get ready for a ton of pictures!

The shoe box is lemon sponge cake and the purse is pound cake.

Let me know what you think! 🙂

4 Responses to “The Size Never Changes!”

  1. Jenny March 9, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    I love the tissue paper effect!
    That caught my eye when I saw the first pictures posted a few days ago.

    This cake is really amazing!

    Keep up the wonderful and creative work.

    Jenny

    • tconigl1 March 9, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

      Thanks Jenny! You’re the best!

  2. Anonymous March 11, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Very Impressive!

  3. Mom S. March 22, 2010 at 1:13 am #

    Resa is great….it’s distinctive and creative. How did you make this purse, shoe, shoe box cake????? It is phenomenal!!! I can’t beleive it. You should make a movie of these creative moments. This is not to be believed…even tissue paper…genius is not a strong enough word. You need your own TV show!!

    Love,
    Mom S.

Leave a Reply

