Fat Friday – Dessert Lasagna

9 Apr

I’m still not feeling so great.  Good thing I made this Fat Friday a few weeks ago!  It was an idea that was inspired by a converstaion with my friend Jenny.  She was talking about making lasagna for dinner and I thought…uuummmm why stop at dinner?  This recipe is not perfect yet, so you may see some variations in the future.  I looked up recipes for dessert lasagna but they all used regular noodles and I didn’t want to do that, so I developed this recipe.  If you try it and modify something and it works, let me know! 🙂

Dessert Lasagna

What you need:

1 package of phyllo dough

32 oz. of Ricotta cheese

1 jar of Nutella

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 3/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 stick of butter melted

1/4 sugar

1 to 1 1/2 cups of crushed hassle nuts

12 oz bag of frozen mixed berries defrosted

Put It All Together:

Heat oven to 350

Filling

Cream Ricotta, Nutella, cocoa powder, sugar, and vanilla.

Combine butter and remaining sugar

Coat the bottom of baking pan with a few table spoons of the butter sugar mixture.

Begin to layer

First with Phyllo Dough – Brush with butter sugar mixture.

Then add the filling.

Next the nuts & berries.

Repeate until baking pan is full, ending with a layer of Phyllo Dough generously brushed with the remaining butter and sugar.

Bake for 1 hour

Let cool completely before serving. Top with whipped cream and enjoy!

It is tasty when warm but runny (like my nose at the moment).  It was better the second day.  The edges were also better than the middle.  The middle was a little mushy.  Next time I might try baking the Phyllo dough on its own and then layering to get a bit more crunch.  The overall flavor is great this way, but the texture is lacking a little.  I’ll come back to this one and spruce it up a little.

Have a great weekend everyone!

3 Responses to “Fat Friday – Dessert Lasagna”

  1. Mouthwatering Lasagna April 9, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    You just gave me the perfect desert idea for my kids, thanks! They simply love lasagna, they’ll happily have it up to 4 times a week. So I’m thinking why stop at lasagna when they can have this lasagna dessert! Boy, I think they’ll rave about this for weeks!

  2. chick2 April 9, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    Looks yummy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Make Up Monday – Cheese for dessert! « Sweetie Cakes & Pies - April 12, 2010

    […] to have while on the SBD was  Chocolate Ricotta Cheese.  It fits in perfectly with last weeks Fat Friday and can be made really quickly.  I love cheese, so I could eat this every day, but I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

