Pure Imagination

4 May
Willy Wonka Cake

This cake was 25 X 39 inches

This past Saturday we made an enormous cake for the State Theatre’s presentation of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  This was a joint project with Life’s So Sweet Chocolate and a huge success for both of us.

This may have been the biggest cake that we have ever made so I brought in reinforcements.  Not only did Dan bust his butt on this cake with me, so did my best friend Sara (who will be guest blogging at some point).  This cake wouldn’t have happened with out the efforts of these two until the wee hours of the morning.

We put so much work into this cake that by the time we got there we were totally desensitized to everything about it.  As soon as we sat the cake down we were swarmed with people.   Seeing their reaction was just so cool!  The kids loved it and instantly picked out all the characters on the cake.  It was such a rewarding experience to see people enjoying the cake.

The first half of the festival we utilized the chocolate fountain and let the kids and kids at heart dip marshmallows into it.  The second half we cut the cake and everyone got to enjoy it.  I got so many great compliments not only on the look of the cake but the taste as well so I felt awesome.

I do have to add that all of this was done on a sprained ankle.  It is not even a good story.  On Thursday afternoon I was walking down the sidewalk and rolled my ankle.  I hit the ground and scrapped my knee like a five year old on the playground.  Of course I was really dramatic about the whole thing and just rolled around on the sidewalk for a while.  I think my friend Scott, who I was with, was a little embarrassed.  He generously went into the store though and got an ice pack and ibuprofen. If Kerri Strug could win the gold with a sprained ankle, I could finish this cake and I did!

Enjoy the photos and let us know what you think!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This kid loved the cake and was explaining it to everyone who walked by.

4 Responses to “Pure Imagination”

  1. Dan May 4, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I love that he’s using the cotton candy cone as a pointer.

  2. Ryan May 5, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    I’m not even sure words describe this cake. I wish I could’ve eaten it!

  3. Jenny May 5, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    Really, Really amazing. I am so sorry I missed seeing it!
    You do wonderful work. Best of luck with your upcoming adventures!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cake Boss Audition « Sweetie Cakes & Pies - July 26, 2010

    […] made ours out of rice crispy treats.  They ended up working perfectly!  Something we learned from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Cake is that people REALLY like rice crispy treats.  When we served that cake a lot of people asked for […]

Leave a Reply

