Work It Wednesday – Apple Tart

22 Sep

I haven’t forgotten about Work It Wednesday, my waste line just can’t afford it.  So when I get the urge to bake, I’ll be sure to bake from the FCI book and post it.  If you aren’t familiar with the FCI book, check it out.  It is a great resource for any kitchen.

This week I made an Apple Tart.  If you actually attend the FCI pastry arts program this is what you make on the first day.  I followed the instructions as best I could.  The end result tasted great!  I found myself having to bake it a little longer than the recipe called for.  Also my cutting skills are improving (no injuries this time), but they aren’t perfect…

Once again this dessert didn’t last very long!

slice of apple tartapple tartThe anatomy of the tart is: a pie crust, apple compote, and then sliced apples.  I used golden delicious apples.  I think the key ingredient in this recipe is the vanilla bean.  If you are making an apple pie or tart at home and want to kick it up a notch, add the seeds from a vanilla bean!  You won’t be sorry.

Leave a Reply

